Dinner – 1 Each, some assembly required

The other day I found myself wandering around the restaurant and bar street of Suva, Fiji  on a lazy Sunday afternoon after diving, and one of the places I saw was the Bad Dog Cafe.  The place was closed but looked interesting so I stopped to look at the menu on the window and noticed they had a Mexican (though somewhat limited) menu.  That was it I had decided I would come back that night for dinner, after all if you have been reading this blog you know I like Mexican food.

I continued my wandering for a while then headed back to my hotel for a short nap then walked back to Bad Dog Cafe to seek my dinner.

I started off by having a Vonu lager and saving a baby sea turtle while I looked over the menu and eventually decided on the taco fiesta, after all who doesn’t like tacos or fiestas (you can tell me by taking the poll below).  Now the dish was described as a make it your self taco dish good for an appetizer for two or dinner for one and since I was one I figured I would make it into a dinner.

I sat for a while reading my book, enjoying my Vonu, and eventually saving a second baby turtle (ordering another Vonu) before my fiesta arrived.

Sorry for the darkness of the pictures. the restaurant was rather dark and I was trying to take pictures while holding my cell phone light over everything.

As the menu predicted it was indeed a make your own taco dish featuring; 2 taco shells (not fresh), 4 corn tortilla chips (fresh), spiced minced meat, grilled fish, a been and pickled vegetable medley, sour cream, salsa, cheese, onion, and of course lettuce.

For those of you who don’t know how to make a taco I have included the  short tutorial.

Note: these steps do not have to be done in this order but I have found putting the lettuce and onion in first not only allows you to better fill the shell but also helps act as a moisture barrier to keep the shell from getting soggy.  The only exception would be if you have wet lettuce (and you should not) then you can spread a layer of sour cream on the inside bottom of the shell to keep the moisture out.

  1. Hold the shell upright in your hand with the opening facing out
  2. Take a small amount (how much is up to your preference) of lettuce and place it in the bottom of the shell
  3. Repeat step 2 but this time put some onion in the shell
  4. Remember back to middle school science class where you had to write instructions on how to make a peanut butter and jelly sandwich
  5. Add your meat, in this case fish or beef, or a mix if you want
  6. Add the beans, or int this case bean and pickled vegetable medley
  7. Add the cheese, sour cream (unless you put it on the bottom), and salsa
  8. Take a big old bite and enjoy
  9. Repeat step 8 until taco is gone
  10. Repeat steps 1 – 9 until all taco shells are gone
  11. Eat whatever remains with your fingers (it’s OK tacos are finger food)

-BONUS MATERIAL-

Now after completing step 11 above I found myself still rather hungry so decided to look over the desert menu.  It did not take me long to settle on the apple and forest berry crumble served warm with vanilla ice cream, though the tiramisu was a close second followed by the chocolate moose, the chocolate cake, and everything else.

The crumble was very good and tasted wonderfully of apple and blueberry (guessing these were the forest berries) and the cool vanilla ice cream went well with a mouth full of crumble.

P1030100

Hope you enjoyed

-erik

One thought on “Dinner – 1 Each, some assembly required

Leave a Reply

