Heaven is on Soi 11

You find yourself in Bangkok with a little money in your pocket, a few hours to kill, and no idea what to do but you do know that you are HUNGRY.  So the question is where do you go to get some good food.  If you ask me I would say head to Sukhumvit Soi 11 where you will find restaurants beyond count (OK I am sure they can be counted but I was too lazy to do it) to fulfill just about any culinary desire from an American 50’s style diner at Angel City to fantastic Thai food at Rosabieng Restaurant and just about everything in between.

First the all important question; “How do I get there?”  Don’t worry I am not going to tell you about this food heaven and then leave you to find it on your own I am going to tell you exactly how to get there.  The easiest way is to stay in a hotel on Soi 11, my favorite being the A-Loft but there are many others to choose from covering everything from grungy hostel to luxury hotels.  But if you find yourself already in Bangkok and already settled into your room I can understand if you don’t want to change hotels just to get closer to some good food so I will still tell you how to get there.  Just take the BTS Sukhumvit line to the Nana station, head out exit 3, walk down the stairs, and turn left at the corner and you are on Soi 11.  Now you just have to find a place to eat (for that I can only make a few suggestions, but you have to figure the rest out).

Map taken from http://www.bangkok.com/images/bts/bts-E3-nana.gif

Map taken from http://www.bangkok.com/images/bts/bts-E3-nana.gif – arrows added by me

 

I have been to a few places on Soi 11 but I still have many more to try.  If you want a little more info on some of the places you can read some of my reviews on this site and on TripAdviser;

I have also eaten at Snapper, Angel City, and Rosabieng Restaurant but don’t have reviews of them so I will just post a couple short reviews here.

Snapper

Snapper is a New Zealand fish and chips restaurant featuring a good selection of fresh fish converted into fish and chips.  I found the food to be a little on the greasy side but not so much that it took away from the fantastic taste.  My only issue it they did not bring out any vinegar, and fish and chips is not fish and chips without vinegar.  I would defiantly recommend this place.

Rosabieng

It has actually been a few years since I have been to this place but I remember what I ate, which means it was either real good or real bad… just kidding about the bad it was rather good.  I had cubed fish in black pepper sauce with stir-fried vegetables.  The restaurant has live music, mostly something like soft jazz, just about every night and plenty of outside seating.  My only recommendation (other than to eat here) is if you sit along the street keep an eye on your bag as it is easy for a passerby to reach out and grab them from you, I saw this once on my first trip to Bangkok.

Angel City

This is your basic 50’s style American diner complete down to the black and white checker tiled floor and the red vinyl booths and the diner food to match.  I only went once for breakfast and had blueberry pancakes which while good were nowhere near the best I have ever had.  The place is clean but it does not seem to be very busy most of the time, maybe because of all the other good choices around.  If you have lots of time in Bangkok I would say sure give this place a try one day, but if you are only there for a night or two skip it and try something else.

OK enough rambling from me, here are some photos of various restaurants taken along Soi 11.

_ECB5773 _ECB5774 _ECB5776 _ECB5778 _ECB5781 _ECB5783 _ECB5785 _ECB5786 _ECB5789 _ECB5791 _ECB5792

 

I hope you enjoy your stay in Bangkok and find something good to eat on Soi 11.  If you have ever been and have any stories or reviews from any of these restaurants please feel free to leave a comment.

This will be my last post for a month or two as I prepare myself for a move to South Africa.  I have enjoyed sharing all my stories with everyone and look forward to sharing my next food adventure, but like all of you I will just have to wait for the next one until I get myself settled in.

-erik

3 thoughts on “Heaven is on Soi 11

  1. Enjoy your trip! I loved your coverage of Thailand. Wonderful stuff and great great photos! The sheer diversity of them is mind boggling! How do you choose? This is definitely the blog to follow if you are going to Bangkok. Have a safe trip and I look forward to your next post.

    • Thank you for the comments, I only wish I was still in Bangkok or at least going back soon.

      As for picking the right one; I follow my nose, my nose always knows

      -erik

  2. Pingback: Tapas with Hang | Eating off the MAP

Leave a Reply

