Apple Pie Cinnamon Rolls

I have always loved to cook and especially to bake but I really don’t get that many opportunities to cook since my schedule keeps me away from home quit often so I was glad for the opportunity to do some baking when I went to visit home for the Christmas holiday.  I had been thinking of making croissants but knowing how much work and time goes into making them I decided for a simpler cinnamon roll but wanted to add a little twist and created what I call apple pie cinnamon rolls.

I started off with the basic recipe from my Mom’s old Fannie Farmer Cook Book which she has had as long as I can remember and has some excellent baking recipes.  I used the recipe to make the dough and the basic filling making my modifications as I went along.  Now I will share the recipe I came up with along with a few notes on changes I will make next time I make these.

Start with the dough (this is straight out of Fannie Farmer)

Ingredients d

  • 1 Package dry yeast
  • 4 1/2 cup (680g) white flour
  • 1 cup lukewarm milk

Procedure

  1. Stir the yeast into 1/3 cup warm water and let it stand for 5 minutes so the yeast has time to dissolve
  2. Add 3 cups of flour and the dissolved yeast to the milk and blend well
  3. Cover and let rise in a warm place until about double in bulk

Before rising
Image


After rising
Image

Now that the dough is made it is time to make the filling and this is where I deviated from the recipe to make these my own.  The original recipe calls for the filling to be mixed into the dough but to me that is not the traditional cinnamon roll so I went my own route and also added a few ingredients such as chopped walnut and diced apple.  I also removed raisins from the original recipe.

Ingredients

  • 3/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1 teaspoon brown sugar
  • 2 eggs (if I made this again I think I would use only one egg)
  • 2 tablespoons butter
  • 1/2 cup finely chopped walnuts (I used black walnuts but I think it would be better with plain walnuts)
  • 1/2 cup finely diced apple (Granny Smith is best for this)

Procedure

  1. Mix the granulated sugar, salt, cinnamon, eggs, and the butter
  2. Blend in the walnut and apple

Image

Image

Now that you have the dough and the filling ready it’s time to make the cinnamon rolls.  The procedure is real simple, you just;

  1. Knead the dough on a lightly floured surface adding some of the remaining four until it is smooth and slightly elastic without being sticky
  2. Roll out the dough until it is about 1/8 – 1/4 inch thick
  3. Spread the filling over the dough (make sure to save some)
  4. Roll the dough into a log
    Image
  5. Cut the log into about 1 inch thick slices
  6. Place the slices into a 9 inch greased pie or cake pan
     _ECB3602
  7. Cover and let them rise in a warm place until they fill the pie pan or place them in the fridge and let them rise over night
    I let them rise over night and in the morning decided to move them to a different pan with straight instead of sloped sides
  8. Cover the rolls with the leftover filling
    _ECB3610
  9. Bake for 25 – 35 minutes in an oven preheated to 375 f (190 c)
  10. Remove and let cool
    _ECB3617

While they cool we need to make the icing which is the simplest procedure of everything and should only take a few minutes.  Simply mix together 4 teaspoons warm water with 3/4 cup confectioners sugar and 1 teaspoon vanilla.  Now you can either drizzle the icing over the whole batch or let people drizzle as much or as little as they want before eating.

_ECB3620

I hope you and your family/ friends love these as much as me and my family did.

-erik

4 thoughts on “Apple Pie Cinnamon Rolls

Leave a Reply

