I follow my stomach

DSC_2322 DSC_2335

I’ve been craving for wonton since the beginning of week, and so decided to make those boiled dumplings over the weekend before heading out for my Christmas vacation the next day. It is getting colder in Hanoi, and when wonton came up in my mind it didnt really leave, imagine sipping over a hot bowl of boiled wonton in steamy chicken soup, biting on the mild flavorful softness of the wonton, I didn’t want the idea to slip away!

There are many variations of Chinese wonton fillings, here I used minced pork and shrimp along with cabbage and carrot, and to enhance the flavor for the dish you need some really good quality mushroom, because when you bite open the wonton, the combination of the mushroom smell mixed with the sweetness of pork and shrimp hit you quite impressively with the chicken broth in the mouth, that was when you know you nailed the dish. That was when I know I was right to follow my stomach! A happy kid! And ready to head outta town!

For this dish basically you just mix all the minced and diced ingredients together, add some salt and pepper, some green onions for coloring, and begin wrapping the wonton by placing a teaspoon of the filling in the middle of the wrapper, wet the wrapper edges and fold them in a triangle shape, press the edges firmly so they seal before you bring the two longer ends of the triangle together so they overlap each other for a nicer looking shape.

When the wonton is fully wrapped you can start boiling the chicken broth for the soup. When the broth is boiled, put the wonton in and wait until the broth starts to boil up again, then you pour in some more chicken broth to reduce the heat, let it boil up again and do that 2 more times and the wonton is fully cooked. I just read that is to make sure the wonton is cooked properly, no exact timing needed and seriously my wontons were just right, nice and soft, beautiful from inside out and the whole making and eating experience was very satisfying and worthwhile for the crave.

Here are some pictures from the process and I proudly present you my from-now-on-signature-dish, so easy to make and so delicious and juicy! Exactly what I need for a cold night in!

Hope you have a happy holiday everyone!
Xoxo
H.

20121223-161713.jpg

20121223-161726.jpg

20121223-161736.jpg

20121223-161747.jpg

20121223-161802.jpg

3 thoughts on “I follow my stomach

  1. Nice post. I was checking continuously this blog and I’m inspired! Very helpful information specially the last part 🙂 I care for such information much. I used to be seeking this particular information for a very lengthy time. Thank you and best of luck.

  2. Hi guys! Sorry for not being able to get back to you sooner, somehow I got the notification emails about your comments just yesterday, guess WordPress also took some time off during the holidays! 😉
    Thanks for dropping by and supporting us! More will be coming so make sure you visit again! Cheers.

Leave a Reply

